SinoAmerican Books

A publisher of fiction and non-fiction in
English devoted to Chinese stories and topics

Available in a variety of digital formats as well as print.

The Belgian Mandarin The Color of Ice
© SinoAmerican Books 2013.  All rights reserved.
The Easiest Way to Learn Mandarin

Click on the covers to see synopses, excerpts, sample chapters, and maps.

Journey into a Far Country The Superior Men of Xinjiang The Vengeance of Superior Men Becoming Tough

New: The Little Chinese Dreammaster (in Kindle and Nook formats)

Part 1: Morning Star

In the wakened world, life expands when you are young and shrinks when you are old. In dreamworld, life expands until the last dream. [Morning Star Chronicles]

Part 2: Blue Cloud

I believe in the paradox that moral men are superior fighters to immoral men. [Sky Blue Cloud]

Part 3: Black Jade

If I ruled dreamworld completely, I would rule the wakened world completely. [Princess Black Jade’s Diary]

Although it was a maxim in her village that only nightmares became real, a young lucid dreamer did not believe that until she had a terrifying encounter with a dreammaster who lived two thousand years earlier. Morning Star’s dream was within Dreammaster Black Jade’s dream. That was a sentence of insanity or death. To avoid either of those fates, Morning Star had to become a dreammaster and something more.

The Little Chinese Dreammaster is a fantasy set in the Qing Dynasty of China. The first part (Morning Star) begins within the dreammaster’s dream. Morning Star escapes, but her efforts two years later to stop recurring nightmares lead to new attacks in both the dream and wakened worlds. In the second part (Blue Cloud), Morning Star’s father fights kidnappers, bandits, corrupt officials, and mercenaries in attempts to free his wife and daughter from slavery. With the help of an old Muslim dreamseer, Morning Star learns to manipulate the dreams of others both to lessen cruelty to fellow slaves and to help her and her mother become free. In the last part (Black Jade), Morning Star’s knowledge of dreamworld explodes with the aid of a dreamlord, her warrior father, her musician mother, and a Daoist monk. She defeats Black Jade in the fifth and ultimate dimension of dreamworld by becoming a new kind of dream being.

Click on a drawing to see a sample chapter from that part of the book.

Part 1: Morning Star

  1. Terror in Two Worlds

  2. Flowers That Can Fly

  3. Ancient Medicine

  4. A Sneaky Doctor

  5. All Nightmares Are the Same Color

  6. The Origins of Magic

  7. A Village Meeting

  8. The Law of Threes

  9. “Blue Cloud is Coming”

10. Even Monks Cry

Part 2: Blue Cloud

11. Evening Star in Chengdu

12. Ghosts, Charms, Signs, and Oracles

13. Second-rate Villains

14. The Dragon Gate Gang

15. Prisons within Prisons

16. Slave Girl

17. The Beckoning Light

18. Someone Else’s Dreams

19. Chasing Camels

20. Lady Khan’s Revenge

21. Dancing in the Desert

22. A Fat Monk

Part 3: Black Jade

23. Dreamcatchers

24. Dragon Family Chronicles

25. Golden Lily’s Dreams

26. Dream Demons

27. “Harder Than the Road to Heaven”

28. Full Glory’s Decision

29. Homecoming in Butterfly Village

30. Black Jade’s Realm

31.  Even Dreamers Lie

32. The Ultimate Dimension of Dreams

33. Balance in Dreamworld

34.  Memories of Things That Might Have Been